To Each Her Own

“It wasn’t the first time. To be honest, I knew he would carouse like a sailor on perpetual shore leave before I married him, so I politely ignored the obvious. My objective was not a husband but power.”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Trifextra challenge: Complete a story of which the opening five words had been given. Complete the following story in 33 words: ‘It wasn’t the first time.’
(The five words are not to be included in your 33 words)

A Story to Read  “Break All the Way Down” by Roxane Gay in Joyland, a Hub for Short Fiction.

17 thoughts on “To Each Her Own

  1. Interesting view point. When we hear about affairs, we often assume the partner has no clue about the infidelity…which may not be the case 🙂

  2. Wow. This is just amazing that you were able to evoke an entire story idea in just a few words. Kudos to you! I’d read an entire novel based on this idea. 🙂

  3. Yowza. This gives me a lot to think about. Such an interesting perspective you’ve taken here. Quite powerful. Thanks for linking up.

Comments are closed.