Rainy Night

Breadwig Photography
Photo Credit: Breadwig Photography

It was a rainy night in Düsseldorf.
Gypsies swayed on sidewalks, singing in the rain,
while clowns serenaded a queen who looked the other way.
We toasted you, my friends and I.
We drank a shot or two of whiskey neat  just to steady my nerves.
It was a rainy night in Düsseldorf, and I was missing you,
you beneath your stars at home,
you without me,
alone.

_________________________________________________________

Red Writing Hood

7 thoughts on “Rainy Night

    1. Rain brings out all kinds of things. Rain at night puts me in a Chicago style Blues kind of place, but in this case it was a Düsseldorf blues kind of place.Thanks for stopping by to read.

  1. This one was so much to read a loud. I love poems that just sing off the tongue and this one did. My favorite lines were these:

    “Gypsies swayed on sidewalks, singing in the rain,
    while clowns serenaded a queen who looked the other way.”

    It was a very creative take on the prompt and I enjoyed reading this very much:~)

  2. I loved the clown line, too. Also “you beneath your stars” had such a ring of melancholy to it, because we always think of stars as universal and not personal. Beautifully done!

Comments are closed.